a tea addiction night

earl grey & zen

oddly, i was pretty obsessed tonight to get 3 things experimented – masala chai (Indian spiced tea), Zen cha (green tea), and beautifully scented bergamot tea….Earl Grey. I love all these three teas, depending on mood and time. Usually I have green tea in the afternoons, at work (…a good detox tea, esp all that heavy food at lunch ;p ), Earl Grey at night on occasions…and a rare treat if I’m in the right eating place, Masala Chai. This is only available to specific pure Indian food joints here in KL. Sweet, pungent (to me is fragrantly intoxicating!) and little hint of spiciness – just to get your mood right! I had Masala Chai 2 days ago, and I haven’t been able to put it aside since then…haha….

this time, my mind have been buzzing with a fusion of East meets West – I thought of marrying my two favourite tea together…a marble of Zen Cha & Earl Grey in cake-form. Yes, i wondered how these two would pair together, especially Earl has a very strong floral spicy note, whereas Zen is subtlely nutty yet calm. I wondered which overpowered the other, and who’s the winner!

tic-toc, tic-toc…i went buzzing up and down my kitchen, first I was rummaging for all the spices as indicated in some recipes I found on the internet to make my first Masala Chai in my life! I counted the needed spices (1 cinnamon stick, 7 cardomon pods, 4 cloves, 1 star anise, a medium pinch of fennel, 2 thin slices of ginger, and 4 peppercorns) and placed them on a plate. After that, I got side tracked…..I went on to prepare the ingredients for my dreamy cake.

got round to measuring the flour, sugar, green tea, poppy seeds, chocolate chips, walnuts, milk, and steeping a cup of Earl Grey. A little of this and that, mix, beat, fold. I made a couple of just Earl Grey, just Green Tea and a few of marbled fusion of the both!

The oven was producing a very pleasant smell…which reminded me that I’m hungry, and forsaken dinner. I went on to continue with boiling my Masala Chai, I use the portion of 2/3 water, 1/3 milk. This will be a good dinner substitute! I was already heady thinking of my cup of masala tea with tea-infused cakeletts. (Truth be told, I actually wanted to make Masala cake too, but guess have to save it for another time since the day is running out!) In 5 – 8 mins later, I have a very interesting blend of Masala Chai ready for enjoyment……

masala chai

Voila! My cakes are ready….. I loved the subtle hint of the Earl Grey cake, not too overpowering and really moist. The Zen-cha cake had a pleasant green hue with speckles of poppy seeds, choc chips (white), giving a nice crunch here and there. Overall, it turned out pleasantly mild & comforting. Not too sweet, very moist. So which overpowered the other?…. My take is Zen, but Earl might win the next round (probably steeping more than 1 teabag).

A good marriage here, I would say. What’s your call?

Ingredients to Green Tea Poppyseed cake:

4 1/2 oz unsalted butter, softened
3 oz brown sugar
2 eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 1/2 oz all-purpose flour/ cake flour
2 oz ground almonds (meal)
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp green tea powder
1 tsp green tea leaves (superfine-ground)
1 tbsp poppy seeds
100ml milk
1-2 oz white chocolate chips

Ingredients to Earl Grey & Walnut cake:

4 1/2 oz unsalted butter, softened
3 oz brown sugar
2 eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 1/2 oz all-purpose flour/ cake flour
2 oz ground almonds (meal)
1/2 tsp baking powder
100ml Earl Grey tea (1 or 2 teabags steeped in hot water)
20ml milk
1 oz white/dark chocolate chips
2 oz walnuts, loosely crushed

Both combined together yields +- 20 cakelettes.

2 responses to this post.

  1. wei… first of all, congrats on FINALLY setting up a blog.

    i love ur photo, who took for u ah? :P

    ok lah … cant wait to see more of ur poetic posts on baking. hehehe…. oh and cheers to D.F.L.A!

    xoxo

    Reply

  2. Posted by joycesiew on April 23, 2008 at 2:53 PM

    thanks bro…i know it’s a long time coming! Hee… *sheepish grin***

    photos are by my amateur hand at photograhy! haha…

    hugs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

